Garden Vegetable Crustless Quiche

I really should be in bed for an early school day tomorrow. But I’ve been wanting to have one of these where I just post recipes I’ve made and before shutting down my computer and losing the page for the recipe I made tonight, I wanted to post it. So, here goes: my first of many recipe creations. I had the majority of the ingredients on hand except for the vegetables and the cottage cheese, so I spent between $7-$10 for what I needed. 

This recipe makes 10 servings. Since I was cooking for myself, I cut it in half and am excited to have some leftovers! But here is the full 10 serving recipe:

  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2  cups  (6 ounces) shredded reduced-fat extrasharp cheddar cheese, divided
  • 1 1/2  cups  (6 ounces) shredded reduced-fat Monterey Jack cheese, divided
  • 1/2  cup  1% low-fat milk
  • 1/2  cup  all-purpose flour (about 2 1/4 ounces)
  • 1  teaspoon  baking powder
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1  (16-ounce) carton fat-free cottage cheese
  • Cooking spray
  • 4  cups  sliced zucchini (about 4)
  • 2  cups  diced potato with onion (such as Simply Potatoes)
  • 1  cup  finely chopped green bell pepper (about 1)
  • 1  (8-ounce) package presliced mushrooms
  • 1/2  cup  chopped fresh parsley
  • 2  tomatoes, thinly sliced

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Beat egg substitute and eggs in a large bowl until fluffy. Add 3/4 cup cheddar cheese, 3/4 cup Jack cheese, milk, flour, baking powder, salt, and cottage cheese.

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add zucchini and the next 3 ingredients (through mushrooms); sauté for 5 minutes or until tender. Add the zucchini mixture and parsley to egg mixture. Pour mixture into a 3-quart casserole dish coated with cooking spray. Top with the remaining 3/4 cup cheddar cheese and 3/4 cup Jack cheese. Arrange tomato slices over cheese. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 350° (do not remove dish from oven), and bake for 35 minutes or until lightly browned and set.

Nutrition Information

Calories: 230 (30% from fat)
Fat: 7.7g (sat 4.6g,mono 1.3g,poly 0.3g)
Protein: 23g
Carbohydrate: 18.1g
Fiber: 1.9g
Cholesterol: 84mg
Iron: 2.1mg
Sodium: 716mg
Calcium: 382mg

The reason I made this was because my diet plan called for vegetable quiche for dinner, but the recipe they provided caused me some trouble with the ingredients and I wasn’t convinced it was better for me. So, I found this one instead that was a bit healthier. I enjoyed it immensely!

This recipe is credited to:

Julie Schreader and Kathleen McGraw, Cooking Light, SEPTEMBER 2006
Leave a comment

Filed under Main Course

Leave a Reply

