Apple Sour Cream Bundt Cake

For some reason, sour cream is one of those ingredients that I always end up needing for a little something here and there in various recipes I make. My family is not big on sour cream, so I’m really the only one that uses it, though they will eat it in things that I make. Sour cream, of course, is one of those ingredients that you can’t just leave in the fridge and forget about for a while either, so I was scrambling around trying to find something that needed a cup of sour cream to create a delicious dish and solve my dilema. I found this one here!

                                                                  Apple Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Ingredients

1/2 cup nuts, finely chopped

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup brown sugar

3 medium apples, peeled and sliced thinly

1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened (I substituted oil)

1 cup sugar

1 cup sour cream (I used light sour cream)

2 eggs (I substituted 4 egg whites)

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions

COMBINE nuts, cinnamon and brown sugar.

BEAT sugar and butter or margarine until fluffy. Add sour cream, eggs, flour, baking powder, baking soda, vanilla and salt and beat well.

SPREAD half the batter in a greased and floured Bundt cake pan.

SPRINKLE with a third of the sugar and cinnamon mixture.

LAYER apples on top of mixture.

SPRINKLE another third of the sugar and cinnamon mixture on top of apples.

SPREAD remaining batter evenly on top of apples and sugar mixture.

SPRINKLE with remaining sugar mixture.

BAKE at 350 degrees for 45 minutes, or until pick comes out clean when inserted in middle.

COOL for 10 to 15 minutes.

LOOSEN edges with knife.

PLACE cake plate on top of pan, and carefully invert, turning the cake onto the pan.

I didn’t have a bundt cake pan so I used a regular loaf pan. It’s a bit crumbly with the different layering when it’s ready to be eaten, so I found it best to plop it in a bowl while still warm and top it with vanilla ice cream. Delish!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert

Leave a Reply

