Sweet Potato Soup

For some reason I make more than one new recipe at a time. Today I made three new recipes. The two chicken recipes were delightful, and may I just say marinading is the best solution when it comes to chicken. Just throw the pieces in a dish and top with a flavorful mix and let it sit overnight to let the juices work themselves into the chicken. Then all you have to do is throw it on the grill, or on the stove, or in the oven. Works like magic! (My marinade had olive oil, paprika, honey, and lime juice) My other chicken recipe was rubbed with fat free mayo and dipped in bread crumbs with seasonings and baked in the oven. But, the real reason I’m here today, is to tell you about my soup.

This soup was a cinch to make. Just cook 2 sweet potatoes, scoop out the insides and mash them with a potato masher, mix in 1/4 cup of milk, 2 T butter, a dash of pepper, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp paprika, and 1/2 tsp ginger. Throw it into a pot of 4 cups of warm water, bring it to a boil, and let it simmer for 10 minutes. It was sweet and homey. A lovely side to my chicken meal. And I got to freeze the leftovers to take to school with me next month for days when I have no time or energy to cook a meal for one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Main Course

Leave a Reply

