Breadsticks, Twists, and Rolls

I have a recipe that you can use several variations on to make the type of bread you want particularly. The nice thing about bread dough is you have the option to leave it in the refrigerator to “rise” for up to a week if you don’t have time to leave it in a warm place for a couple hours and make the bread that day. I discovered this fact when I was taking Oral Communications at MiraCosta and was taking on French Bread for my “How-To” speech. Very convenient for a busy college student like me.

I decided to be overly ambitious….what else is new?….and make all three variations at once. Might as well while I had the dough, right?

This recipe is from Jonni McCoy’s cookbook, Healthy Meals for Less. It makes 36 rolls.

To start you make the dough:

¼ c butter, softened (or you can substitute with 1/4 c. olive oil)

½ c sugar

1 ½ tsp salt

2 c lukewarm water

4 ½ tsp active dry yeast (or two packets if you buy them in the three per pack at the store like me)

1 egg

6-7 c flour depending on stickiness of dough

In large mixing bowl, combine butter, sugar, salt, and water. Mix until dissolved.

This was as much as I could get my butter to "dissolve" as the recipe said.

Stir in yeast.

Mix in egg and 3 c of flour. Combine well.

Add remaining flour ½ c at a time.

This is about 5 - 1/2 cups--as much as I could add in while stirring with a fork.

Stop adding flour when dough is easy to be handled and not too sticky.

I got in about 6-3/4 cups of flour--adding by hand towards the end.

Form the dough in a round ball. Place in greased bowl. Rub the top with oil and cover with lid or plastic wrap.

I stuck mine in the refrigerator to rise overnight.

If using plastic wrap, place towel dampened with warm water over the top. Place in a warm place and let rise for 2 hours or so. (In the winter, when there’s no sunshine in sight, I put the bowl on top of my dryer while I do laundry. Nice and warm in there!) Punch down every 30 minutes. Or place in refrigerator until ready to use up to a week. Punch down twice a day. Bring the dough to room temp before using.

It has risen!

Now for the variations:

For rolls, place three small balls of dough in each cup of a greased muffin pan.

The balls of dough don't have to be perfect. I didn't even flour my hands to keep it from sticking.

 

Three in each muffin cup.

I ran out of muffin cups! I prepped these for the next round.

Cover with a damp paper towel and let rise till double in size. (30 min).

Bake at 400 degrees till golden brown–12-15 min.

 

Other variations:

For cinnamon sticks, roll dough into a rectangle, 1/4 inch thick. Cover the dough with melted butter, just enough to moisten it. In a bowl, mix 1/2 c sugar and 2 tsp cinnamon. Sprinkly dough generously with sugar mix. Fold the dough in half, and press edges to seal. Cut into 1 inch wide strips and twist. Put on greased cookie pan and bake at 400 degrees for 8-11 min.

For Italian herb breadsticks, roll dough into a rectangle, 1/4 inch thick. Brush dough with olive oil. Sprinkle with 2 cloves of pressed garlic and 2 T mozzarella cheese. Sprinkle with a dash of Italian seasoning. Fold dough in half and press the edges to seal. Cut into 1 inch wide strips and twist. Sprinkle sea salt on top of sticks. Put  on greased cookie pan and bake at 400 degrees for 8-11 minutes.

I used 1/3 of dough for each variation, but you can use the whole thing on one if you like!

1 Comment

Filed under Side Dish

One response to “Breadsticks, Twists, and Rolls

  1. Pingback: Better than Julian Apple Pie « A College Girl's Recipe Success

Leave a Reply

