Snickerdoodles

I discovered this new website: http://www.joyofbaking.com. The pictures are fantastic. Makes me want to bake everything on there! I was watching Julie and Julia again last night because I discovered I’m not able to concentrate on the Olympics when I’m watching by myself. Of course, it put me in the baking mood. Snickerdoodles was up on the menu. I decided they would be best because I’m trying to get rid of the butter I bought for my last cooking escapade and the cookies have to refrigerate which meant I couldn’t eat them right away and be tempted to finish off the whole batch all by myself because I was watching a movie about food. So I made the dough, put it in the fridge overnight and finished them up this morning. They’re delightful little treats!

Ingredients:

2 3/4 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 cup butter, room temperature

1 1/2 cups granulated white sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Coating:

1/3 cup granulated white sugar

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions:

In a large bowl whisk together the flour, salt, and baking powder. In a bowl, beat the butter and sugar until smooth (about 2 to 3 minutes with electric mixer). Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Beat in the vanilla extract. Add the flour mixture and beat until you have a smooth dough. If the dough is soft, cover and refrigerate until firm enough to roll into balls (at least one hour).

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and place rack in the center of the oven. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Shape the dough into 1 inch round balls. Coating: In a bag, mix together the sugar and cinnamon. Put balls of dough in the cinnamon sugar bag and shake to coat. Remove and place on the prepared pan, spacing about 2 inches apart. Then, using the bottom of a glass, gently flatten each cookie to about 1/2 inch thick.

Bake the cookies for about 8 – 10 minutes, or until they are light golden brown around the edges. Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool.

Can store in an airtight container, at room temperature, for about 10 – 14 days. Makes about 6 dozen cookies.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert

Leave a Reply

