PB French Toast Waffles with Plum Sauce

My dear apron hasn’t gotten much use lately, I’m afraid. My teaching credential program has taken over my life and favorite pastimes like cooking have had to wait patiently on my shelf of to-dos. This morning however, I had a grand Saturday spread out before me. A bike ride with my best friend was planned in approximately 45 minutes. I raced to my room to grab a recipe I spotted in Parade Magazine a few weeks ago, and whipped something together with my own twist as my time span was a bit shorter than called for in the recipe. It was delightful just the way that I made it.

Ingredients:

1/4 c plum preserves

4 slices bread

2 eggs

3/8 c milk

1/2 T sugar

1/4 tsp vanilla

pinch salt

2 T peanut butter

nonstick spray

Directions:

Crack eggs in medium bowl and whisk. Add milk, sugar, vanilla, and salt; whisk. Spread 1 T peanut butter on 2 slices of bread. Top with remaining slices to make two sandwiches. Flatten slightly. Soak sandwiches in egg mixture, 4-5 minutes per side. Heat a waffle iron. Spray with nonstick spray. Remove sandwiches from egg mixture and place on the waffle iron. Press down gently at first, then add a little pressure to the cover and press until it is completely closed. Cook until golden brown about 3 minutes. Heat preserves in glass dish for 1 minute. Carefully remove each waffle to a plate. Drizzle with preserves.

Leave a comment

Filed under Main Course

Leave a Reply

