Sun-Dried Tomato Spread

New Years Eve parties most definitely call for appetizers. My parents were having some friends over but hadn’t been home all day so I was trying to think of something easy to throw together for them. I discovered some sun-dried tomatoes that I had forgotten about in the fridge. Thankfully they weren’t moldy because I paid good money for those. 😉 I also had some cream cheese that was leftover from another recipe I had made. I immediately thought of sun-dried tomato cream cheese–having sold it at Panera when I worked there. I looked up some recipes to see if I could find one and just ended up throwing it together on my own based on those. It was super simple and got raves from the guests that came.

Ingredients:

4 sun-dried tomatoes

4 oz low fat cream cheese

dash of garlic powder

Directions:

Place tomatoes in food processor with dash of garlic powder so top of each tomato is lightly covered with powder. Pulse till no more large pieces of tomato. Add cream cheese and mix. (I did half of this in the processor and the remaining cream cheese by hand.) Serve as a spread for crackers or veggies. Store in refrigerator for 1 week. Makes 1/2 cup.

Leave a comment

Filed under Side Dish

Leave a Reply

